9 comments on “Domestic Violence and (sexual) humiliation

  1. Thank you for sharing such a hard experience and topic to tackle. I do understand and don’t think I will ever have the courage to speak of that part of my abuse….hugs

    • Thank you for commenting. It was hard, and it took a while, and its not even scratching the surface of my shame and humiliation, but it needed to be said, because I realised many women feel like I do. I thought about the statement I gave to the police and realised how many of the degrading details I’d ommitted because I couldn’t bring myself to say them … I understand never being able to speak about it. Ultimately you need to protect yourself and think what’s right for you. I think, I needed to say at least a few of them out loud, to ease the burden on my mind, so I’m no longer just carrying it around with myself.

  2. This was a very brave post. In the “rape culture”, and male dominated corners of the world where a marriage certificate is referred to as “ownership papers”, this type of abuse remains in the darkness. Engrained in my mind among other humiliations, is having my husband penetrate me orally, grabbing my hair and forcing himself in me-while I was using the bathroom! Kids were in the next room-he never said a word…just kept on. I am healing-it’s been 16 months since I escaped. Like you, I am using writing to try to let it go and process it all instead of doing my usual stuffing.

    • Thank you for sharing something so intimate with me! I thought this post was rather brave too, because it goes above and beyond saying ‘I was raped and abused’. It took me a while to press ‘publish’, but here we are, it needed to be said.
      The humiliation of the act and the shame is what keeps victims silent, and as you say some kind of part accountability or responsibility, especially in intimate partner rape, also plays a huge role (I’m writing about that next, I think).
      Thank you for commenting. I am following your journey and my heart goes out to you!

  3. I remember the humiliation. My ex liked to openly reject me as his wife and offer me to his family members to name one incident. It is a horrible place to be. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Pingback: The Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing – or why an abuser / rapist is never a nice person | ... love hurts?

  5. Thank you so much for talking about something I cannot yet. I’m so sorry that this happened to you and hope you win your court cases. Take care of yourself and be kind to yourself. X

      • Thank you. What I’m hoping is that they pass this domestic violence law that is in the pipeline, because then I might be able to drag my abuser through all the hell he’s dragged me through. Hope court is going well for you x

Leave a comment